The Department of Psychiatry was established in 1999, with the establishment of Yenepoya Medical College, a constituent college of Yenepoya University, Mangalore. Inter-disciplinary PhD started in 2009 and postgraduate course (MD) was started in the year 2011. The department is committed to embodying the principle of 'A sound mind in a sound body.' Our devoted team comprises of psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers, focuses on comprehensively addressing the biological, psychological, and social dimensions of patient mental health. We maintain a holistic perspective and provide training for both undergraduate and postgraduate students. Our foremost concerns revolve around patient well-being, education, and research. The Department excels in providing affordable mental health care without compromising on the quality of the services provided. The department has seen a steady increase in the number of patients utilizing our services over the years.


  • To be one of the premier psychiatry departments in the country based on our education, scientific investigation and health care delivery


  • Strive to provide outstanding clinical care, which is comprehensive, affordable and delivered compassionately, appropriately responsibly and efficiently.
  • The patient care provided will be done in a manner that supports and advances education and research.


  • To be in the forefront of providing mental health care, education along with cutting edge research and innovation.


  • To be a center which provides state-of-the-art education and training opportunities in Psychiatry to medical students and other allied specialties/ health professionals.
  • To promote high quality interdisciplinary & innovative research among students and faculty in order to contribute to the advancement of existing knowledge.
  • To cater to the mental health needs of the patients and community at large by way of providing quality mental health care with the aim of rehabilitating them back to society.

Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate: MBBS – 250 seats / year
  • Postgraduate: M.D in Psychiatry - 3 seats / year
  • PhD: Inter-disciplinary - 2 seats / year (8/Guide)
  • Internship & Observership courses offered for Psychology & MSW students.

The department excels in academic programmes for post-graduates in the department. Case conferences, grand rounds and seminars are conducted regularly. Additionally, there is a Journal club program and scientific society meeting. Our Department also provides innovative teaching methods including Case vignettes, simulated patient learning and visits to our psychiatric rehabilitation centre, YENCOURAGE.

Clinical Services

Our department provides wide range of services including outpatient care, inpatient care and emergency psychiatry services. Our services encompass psychiatric evaluations, therapy, medication management and crisis intervention. In addition, we offer specialty clinic services such as Child Guidance Clinic, Clinic for senile disorder, De-addiction clinic, Psycho-motor clinic, Memory clinic, and family counseling.

The department employs various treatment modalities including psychotherapy, pharmacotherapy, Modified electro convulsive therapy (MECT) as well as Ketamine infusion treatment depending on the needs of individual patients. Our Department also provides psychological as well as psycho-social and rehabilitation services as per the needs of the individual patients.

Our department also provides rehabilitation services at YENCOURAGE Rehabilitation centre which has facilities for:

  • Daycare services with food
  • Rehabilitation & long stay facility.
  • De-addiction services
  • Psychiatry & Psychologists consultation
  • Counseling and Therapy services
  • Psychological assessments
  • Computer assisted training programs

We also provide Tele-Psychiatry services which has become increasingly popular and a necessity over the recent years especially for those who may have difficulty accessing in-person care.


An initiative by Department of Psychiatry, Yenepoya Medical College, Mangaluru to reach out to people in psychological distress, suicidal intention and substance abuse, was started in March 2018.


Department of Psychiatry frequently engage in community outreach efforts through camps and awareness talks and programs to provide mental health care, reduce stigma surrounding mental health, promote mental health awareness and spread education to the public.

We are associated in conducting psychiatric camps at following places

  • Community Health Centre, Uppingandy
  • Community Health Centre, Ullal
  • Sri SaiNikethana Ashram, Daigoli
  • Veronica Vihar, Mary hill, Mangalore
  • Susheg Charitable Trust, Mangalore


The department of Psychiatry is in collaboration with various prestigious institutions and centers with an aim to promote multidisciplinary approach, research advancements, access to specialized services, training and education as well as networking and support. Some of our major partnerships include

  • Expert PU College, Valachil, Mangalore
  • NITK ( National Institute of Technology Karnataka) Surathkal, Mangalore
  • St. Joseph Engineering College, Vamanjoor, Mangalore


Our faculties also provide mental health services to the following centers which include:

  • Seon Asharm Trust, Belthangady
  • Snehalaya Charitable Trust, Manjeshwar

Our department has junior research fellows (JRFs) working on various projects.

We are involved in a range of both internationally and nationally funded projects supported by prestigious organizations such as

  • Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)
  • Department of Science and technology (DST)
  • Indian Association of Private Psychiatry (IAPP)
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • Yenepoya University seed grants

In addition, our Department has received ICMR STS (Short term studentship) grants which includes:

  • Suicide Reporting In Electronic & Print Media- An Indian Analysis. (STS 2020-08995)
  • Explanatory models of depression in a rural community of coastal Karnataka. (STS 2018-01181)
  • Pathways of care among first admissions to psychiatric wards in a medical college hospital in south India (STS 2017-01142)


Dr. Anil K.

Dr. Ravichandra Karkal

Dr. Ganesh Kini K.

Dr. Shashwath Sathyanath M.

Dr. Rajesh M.

Dr. P.M.A. Nishad

Dr. Manuanand


Fee Structure
Apply Now
Admission 2023